Spaghetti in My Hair

Spaghetti in My Hair

When Clare Stimpson turns-up in Modena, a beautiful city in Emilia-Romagna in northern Italy, to teach English, little does she know that she will fall in love with the country and its people, and stay there for the next four years. Clare was inspired by her mother, whose stories of her hitchhiking adventures in Sicily in 1949, fired her imagination. In the mid 1970s she decides to leave her teaching job in London and taste the dolce vita for herself. Spaghetti in my Hair tells the story of the Italian characters that Clare met. It explores some of the magical cities of Emilia-Romagna and other stunning regions of Italy. The book touches on Italian family life, the food and habits of the nation and the unstable, political atmosphere of the time. Returning to England but feeling nostalgic for the Italian experience, Clare returns to teach E.F.L. in the sublime coastal resort of San Remo on the Ligurian Riviera. This eventually leads her back to Modena, a place she has grown to know and love. Interwoven throughout the book are stories of adventures and mishaps experienced by Clare and her friends and family. The central part of the story tells the tale of an epic journey across Italy in a small red V.W. called Doris when Clare and three other girls experience many hilarious adventures whilst driving south as far as Gargano in the region of Puglia. The final part of the story goes back in time to 1949 when Clares intrepid mother and her friend, hitchhiked to Sicily a no-mans land in those days. She recounts the tales that her mother passed down to her, including a memorable stay in jail, when the two English girls were mistaken for accomplices of the notorious bandit, Giuliano Salvatore. Spaghetti recipes included add a large glass of wine or two!


Author
Publisher AuthorHouse
Release Date
ISBN 1467016691
Pages 367 pages
Rating 4/5 (98 users)

More Books:

Spaghetti in My Hair
Language: en
Pages: 367
Authors: Clare Stimpson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-10-13 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

When Clare Stimpson turns-up in Modena, a beautiful city in Emilia-Romagna in northern Italy, to teach English, little does she know that she will fall in love
Sleep Thieves
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Stanley Coren
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-12-11 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The A to ZZZ of sleep is offered by the bestselling author of The Intelligence of Dogs. In an engrossing blend of entertaining anecdotes and scientific data, be
The State of the Union
Language: en
Pages: 718
Authors: Jessie O. Roland
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-20 - Publisher: XinXii

Washington D. C. is destroyed by a nuclear weapon during the State of the Union Address. The enemy has attacked when America is most vulnerable. However one cab
Incontinent on the Continent
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Jane Christmas
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-10-21 - Publisher: Lion Books

To honour a promise to her dying father, Jane takes her ageing incontinent mother to Italy. What could possibly go wrong? Jane Christmas had always had a diffic
Christmas Miracles
Language: en
Pages: 325
Authors: Julianne MacLean
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-20 - Publisher: Julianne MacLean

Dreams of a Farmer's Wife
Language: en
Pages: 291
Authors: Jeanette Dyess Ryan
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11 - Publisher: iUniverse

True stories of a city man from Kentucky who came to rural Alabama where he married a country girl in the 1950's. His heart's desire was to own a few acres of l
Hidden Voice
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Heather Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-03-09 - Publisher: Publication Consultants

11-year-old Vidia Achsah has an extraordinary talent. Underneath her rebellious attitude, she has the voice of an angel. When her friends hear her singing in th
Of the Heartland
Language: en
Pages: 344
Authors: Jim Ylitalo
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-07 - Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

This story is set in the Midwest, somewhere northwest of the Twin Cities, in fictional Heartland. A young farm boy, George Johnson, proves he is no ordinary boy
Home Cooking
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Laurie Colwin
Categories: Cooking
Type: BOOK - Published: 2025-10-09 - Publisher: Penguin UK

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater. Weaving together memo
The Mmm Girl
Language: en
Pages: 348
Authors: Tara Hanks
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-11 - Publisher: UKA Press

'Nothing lasts forever.we all have a short time, to shine or just survive.' Who was Marilyn Monroe? She began as Norma Jeane, the Los Angeles waif who dreamed o